Skip to content

NAN Legal Services Memo- Travel Assistance

NAN Legal Services Memo- Travel Assistance

GETTING PEOPLE HOME: COVID-19 PANDEMIC

Nishnawbe-Aski Legal Services Corporation has rolled out an immediate plan to offer travel assistance to help people get home in the wake of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Any member of a Nishnawbe Aski Nation First Nation who has been displaced by the justice system is eligible for support. If you know anyone in need of assistance to get home following release, please contact the staff member by location:
Sioux Lookout:
Lenard Comber, (807) 632-0316 lecomber@nanlegal.on.ca

Thunder Bay:

  • Terri Zoccole, (807) 629-7031 tzoccole@nanlegal.on.ca
  • Jacob Mekanak (cell details to follow) jmekanak@nanlegal.on.ca

Timmins & Cochrane:

  • Krystal Fortier, (705) 288-7800 kfortier@nanlegal.on.ca

Ne-Chee Friendship Centre is offering this service to persons in Kenora needing support. For assistance, contact Breena Kokopenace at bailcoordinator@nechee.org. Kaakewaaseya Justice Services through Grand Council Treaty #3 is offering this assistance to their
community members. Please contact Alison Napish at alison.napish@treaty3.ca or by cell at (807) 407-1425.

We need your support to identify individuals who require assistance as well as to contact them and get their arrangements to them. Please also be reminded that NALSC’s offices are closed. The best way to contact us is through the cellphone or email numbers provided.

You may also contact:

  • Irene Linklater, Executive Director at (807) 630-3757 ilinklater@nanlegal.on.ca;
  • Danielle Wood, Area Director at (807) 356-6600 dwood@nanlegal.on.ca;
  • Heather Baillie, LAO Coordinator at (807) 627-0862 hbaillie@nanlegal.on.ca;
  • George Edwards, Gladue Manager at (807) 629-4213 gedwards@nanlegal.on.ca.


Miigwetch,
Irene Linklater,
Executive Director

Download memo below:

NAN Legal Services Memo- March 25, 2020

Stay updated.

Subscribe to be notified when new updates are available.